Links for free download

Lionel Hampton - 1937-1940
MP3 version

1389 downloads at 29 mb/s

Lionel Hampton - 1937-1940
FLAC version

1622 downloads at 15 mb/s

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 On The Sunny Side Of The Streets
Written-By – Fields-McHugh*
A2 China Stomp
Written-By – Schwartz*, Jerome*
A3 I Know That You Know
Written-By – Caldwell*, Youmans*
A4 I've Found A New Baby
Arranged By – Henderson*Written-By – Palmer*, Williams*
A5 Ring Them Bells
Written-By – Ellington*, Mills*
A6 Jivin' With Jarvis
Written-By – L. Hampton*
A7 Muskat Ramble
Written-By – Edward Ory
A8 High Society
Arranged By – Norman*Written-By – Steele*, Melrose*
B1 Four Or Five Times
Written-By – Gay*, Hellman*
B2 Twelfth Street Rag
Written-By – Bowman*, Summer*
B3 One Sweet Letter From You
Written-By – Warren*, Brown*, Clare*
B4 Dinah
Written-By – Akst*, Young*, Lewis*
B5 Sweethearts On Parade
Written-By – Lombardo*, Newman*
B6 After You've Gone
Written-By – Creamer*, Layton*
B7 Shoe Shiner's Drag
Written-By – Ferd-Morton*
B8 Blue Because Of You
Written-By – Carpenter*, Dunlop*, Wilson*

Companies, etc.

  • Licensed From – JTV-FL
  • Distributed By – Saar s.r.l.
  • Marketed By – Saar s.r.l.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sarabandas srl
  • Copyright (c) – Sarabandas srl


  • Alto Saxophone – Benny Carter (tracks: A7, B7), Dave Maschwitz (tracks: A7, B7), Hymie Schertzer (tracks: A8), Johnny Hodges (tracks: A1 to A3, A5), Russell Procope (tracks: A8), Toots Mondello (tracks: A4, B1)
  • Arranged By – Benny Carter (tracks: A7, B7), Edgar Sampson (tracks: A5), Fred Norman (tracks: A8)
  • Baritone Saxophone – Coleman Hawkins (tracks: B4), Edgar Sampson (tracks: A5), Harry Carney (tracks: B2)
  • Bass – Artie Bernstein (tracks: A4, B1, B4), Billy Taylor* (tracks: A5), John Kirby (tracks: A1 to A3, A7, B7), Johnny Miller (tracks: B6), Milt Hinton (tracks: A8, B5), Wesley Prince (tracks: A6, B8)
  • Clarinet – Benny Carter (tracks: A7, B7), Buster Bailey (tracks: A1 to A3), Edmond Hall (tracks: B4), Hymie Schertzer (tracks: A8), Toots Mondello (tracks: A4, B1), Vido Musso (tracks: B6)
  • Cornet – Rex Stewart (tracks: B2)
  • Cover [Design] – G. Rosa*
  • Cover [Idea] – M. Cambieri*
  • Drums – Al Spieldock (tracks: A6, B8), Cozy Cole (tracks: A1 to A3, B5, B6), Jo Jones (tracks: A7, B7), Lionel Hampton (tracks: A6, B6, B8), Sammy Greer (tracks: A5, B2), Zutty Singleton (tracks: B4)
  • Guitar – Al Casey (tracks: A4, B1), Allan Reuss (tracks: A1 to A3, A5, A8, B5, B6), Charlie Christian, Freddie Green (tracks: B4), Oscar Moore (tracks: A6, B8)
  • Leader – Cozy Cole (tracks: A8)
  • Piano – Billy Kyle (tracks: A7, B7), Clyde Hart (tracks: A4, A8, B1, B2, B5), Jess Stacy (tracks: A1 to A3, A5, B6), Joe Sullivan (tracks: B4), Lionel Hampton (tracks: A6, B2, B5, B8), Nat King Cole (tracks: A6, B8)
  • Saxophone – Ben Webster, Coleman Hawkins, Leon "Chu" Berry
  • Tenor Saxophone – Arthur Rollins Jr (tracks: B6), Babe Russin (tracks: A7, B7), Ben Webster (tracks: A4, B1), Herschel Evans (tracks: A7, B7), Jerry Jerome (tracks: A4, A8, B1), Leon "Chu" Berry (tracks: A8, B5), Vido Musso (tracks: B6)
  • Trombone – Lawrence Brown (tracks: B2)
  • Trumpet – Benny Carter (tracks: B4), Cootie Williams (tracks: A5), Dizzy Gillespie (tracks: B3), Harry James (tracks: A7, B7), Irving Randolph (tracks: A8), Ziggy Elman (tracks: A4, B1, B6)
  • Vibraphone – Lionel Hampton (tracks: A5 to A8, B2, B4 to B7)
  • Vocals – Helen Forrest (tracks: A6, B8), Lionel Hampton (tracks: A5, A7, A8, B2, B5 to B7), The Hampton Rhythm Boys (tracks: A6, B8)


℗ & © 1984 by Sarabandas srl

A1 New York, April 26, 1937
A2 New York, April 26, 1937
A3 New York, April 26, 1937
A4 New York, Oct 30, 1937
A5 New York, Jan 18, 1938
A6 Hollywood, July 17, 1940
A7 New York, July 21, 1938
A8 New York, Apr 8, 1838

B1 New York, Oct 30, 1937
B2 New York, June 13, 1939
B3 New York, Sep 12, 1939
B4 New York, Dec 21, 1939
B5 New York, April 3, 1939
B6 Hollywood, Sept 8, 1937
B7 New York, July 21, 1938
B8 Hollywood, July 17, 1940

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CD 53050 Lionel Hampton Small Combos 1937-1940 ‎(CD, Comp) Giants Of Jazz CD 53050 Italy 1990
CD 53050 Lionel Hampton Small Combos 1937-1940 ‎(CD, Comp) Giants Of Jazz CD 53050 1998
CD 53050 Lionel Hampton Small Combos 1937-1940 ‎(CD, Comp) Giants Of Jazz CD 53050 Europe 1990


Lionel Hampton - 1937-1940

Performer: Lionel Hampton

Album Title: 1937-1940

Genre: Jazz

Label: Giants Of Jazz ‎– LP JT 11
Type: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: Italy
Date of released: 1984
Category: Jazz
Style: Big Band

MP3 album zip size: 1622 mb

FLAC album zip size: 1389 mb

Rating: 4.6 / 5

Votes: 464


Related Tracks or Albums