Tracklist Hide Credits

1 As I Roved Out
2 The Spanish Lady
Backing Vocals – Yvonne McMahon
3 Love On Tillery
Written By – Stacey/WoodsWritten-By – Stacey*, Woods*
4 Finnegan's Wake
5 Terence's Farewell
6 Kilmainham's Glen
7 The Travellin' People
Written-By – Ewan McColl*
8 The Dublin Jack Of All Trades
Vocals – Ronnie Drew
9 DeValera's Green Isle
10 Sea Of Heartbreak
Written By – Hal David/Paul HamptonWritten-By – Hal David, Paul Hampton
11 The Grosse Isle Lament
12 Leave Her Johnny Leave Her


  • Accordion, Whistle, Bagpipes [Uillean Pipes] – Paul Harrigan
  • Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Dave Browne
  • Arranged By – T. Woods* (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 12)
  • Design [Additional Sleeve Design] – Joanne Carberry
  • Design [Cover Concept And Graphic Design] – Oldtown
  • Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals – Steve Browne
  • Electric Bass, Keyboards, Backing Vocals – David "Sparky" Hughes
  • Engineer, Mastered By – Ivan O'Shea
  • Lead Vocals – Shane Martin
  • Mandolin, Cittern, Bouzouki, Banjo [5-string], Acoustic Guitar, Concertina, Backing Vocals, Producer – Terry Woods
  • Photography [Band Photo] – Sarah Woods
  • Written-By – T. Woods* (tracks: 6, 9, 11), Trad* (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 12)


"I was born and reared in Golden Lane. We were just real poor and it was very old tenements. Our lane was called the 'Four Corners of Hell' because there was a pub at each corner, and a pub in the middle as well." May Hanaphy from Dublin Pub Life and Lore by Kevin C. Kearns (Gill & Macmillan 1996)

Recorded at The Factory, Spring 2002.

Photos are reproduced by kind permission of the Old Dublin Society and the Civic Museum, Dublin.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 028207 012324

The Woods Band - Music From The Four Corners Of Hell

Performer: The Woods Band

Album Title: Music From The Four Corners Of Hell

Genre: Rock, Folk, World, & Country

Label: Market Square ‎– MSMCD123
Type: CD, Album
Country: UK & Ireland
Date of released: 2003
Category: Rock, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk Rock, Celtic

MP3 album zip size: 1705 mb

FLAC album zip size: 1648 mb

Rating: 4.8 / 5

Votes: 281


Related Tracks or Albums